Restore the factory settings in Toshiba® Satellite U500
There are various reasons as to why issues might surface in your Toshiba Satellite U500. These include problems that are caused due to unnecessary changes that were made to important settings required for the correct functioning of the system. Installing a particular application that had many errors, accidental modification or deletion of a key system file, might be some of the possible reasons for these issues. Some malware are capable of modifying settings within the system which would be extremely difficult to fix. Some malware that accidentally gets installed on your Toshiba Satellite U500 can also cause similar effects. Restoring Toshiba Satellite U500 to factory settings helps to ensure that no traces of the problems remain. Toshiba Satellite U500 restoration should be carried out in the ‘Safe Mode’ of the system.
- Recovery disk
- Data backup
- Copy setup files
The system can be restored to Factory Settings using the recovery disk; which is provided with Toshiba Satellite U500 at the time of purchase by the manufacturer. Place the recovery disk into the optical drive and restart your system. Once the system reboots, ensure that the system starts up from the CD and the menu will appear to restore to factory defaults. The wizard will proceed and the data on the system where the Operating System is present will be erased.
While restoring Toshiba Satellite U500 to factory settings there are chances of losing files and folders that you have used. In order to avoid data loss, it is advised that all user preferences are backed up before starting with the restore process on Toshiba Satellite U500. Users need to backup all driver related information as drivers might not be part of the standard product configuration and might require external installation. Some old drivers will be hard to locate and install hence, users must take backup of these on a separate media like a CD or a DVD.
When restoring Toshiba Satellite U500 to its factory settings, the system will be restored to its original settings as when the system was first purchased. Users need to remember that some much needed programs that had been installed on the system will be removed. Copies of all setup files and of all important applications should be backed up so as to install them after the restoration process.